We have an enthusiastic team of 1 manager, a deputy and 5 nursery assistants who are all qualified or working towards relevant qualifications.  We also have an admin manager who manages all of the paperwork and admin behind the scenes!



Hello my name is Lisamarie.   I live in Chesham but I grew up in Chalfont St Giles, I even attended the Chalfont St Giles playgroup myself many years ago.
I have been in child care since the age of 16 and have always had a passion for working with children. I started working at playgroup in 2012 and I am still here nearly 10 years later, after completing my level 2 & 3 childcare qualification I have have been offered the great opportunity to became the Playgroup Manager, which will be an exciting journey for me!
I also help with childcare for other families in CSG and offer babysitting in the week and at weekends.  In my spare time I enjoy spending time with my family and friends and going for long walks with my dogs.

Hello, my name is Tracey.  After leaving school at 16 I joined Royal Insurance as a Motor Insurance Underwriter.  I worked there for 12 years and progressed to a Commercial Underwriter before leaving to become a full-time Mum.  I met my husband when I was 18 and we have 3 lovely children, who are now 20, 21 and 22.  We got married in 2005 in Vancouver.

When my youngest child finished attending the local pre-school, I was asked by the manager to join the team.  I really enjoyed working with the children and decided to re-train and obtained my Level 2 & 3.

After many years I decided I would like a new challenge and worked as a receptionist, administrator and medical secretary at a local Doctor’s Surgery,  however I soon realised that my passion was working with children so was delighted when I was offered a position at CSG Playgroup.

In my free time I love to go on walking breaks with my husband, and  going to see live music.  In the last couple of years we have discovered music festivals, and try to visit one a year.



Hello I’m Sarah I have two grown up daughters and soon to be a nanny, I have lived in Buckinghamshire all my life.
I joined playgroup in 2015 and have found the role very rewarding.
I previously worked at both the village schools serving lunches to the children.
Before children I worked in Sales and Marketing.



Before working at the playgroup I was a full time mummy, I have 2 boys of whom I am super proud.
Sport is a huge part of my family home and I find myself ferrying my boys to all sorts of different clubs most evenings and every weekend!
Back in the day before children I worked at a photographic agency in a sales team, this took me travelling quite a bit and I was lucky enough to visit some amazing cities around the world. In 2012 my eldest child was starting reception and I realised I wanted to be part of that journey with him, and I couldn’t do that and work. So I decided to devote my time on my children. I am a firm believer that children need room to explore and make mistakes in a safe environment, to try different ways to achieve a goal, and encourage children to think for themselves and do things for themselves (there’s no snowflakes round me!)
I am what some call the ‘10 percenters’ : that is I volunteer in almost every aspect of clubs and activities that my child are part of, be it on the PTA, cricket manager, admin , event organiser (to name a few)
I love skiing, reading and rugby and socialising .
Hello my name is Leanne
I currently live in Little Chalfont, but went to school and lives most of my life in Chalfont St Peter and St Giles. I’m a mother of 2 children who I’m very proud of, 1 attended playgroup from 2.5 up till primary school and the other currently attends playgroup. I worked in childcare after I left school until my early twenties, then I worked in adult care for just over 10 years, until I decided I would like to come back and work in childcare. In my spare time I enjoy going to my workout class and spending time with my friends. As a family we love exploring the woods and going on adventures to find new places to play and discover.


image0 (15)

Hello my name is Louise, I have lived in Buckinghamshire for the past 12 years, I now live in Amersham but previously lived in Chalfont St Giles. I have 2 children of my own Alice aged 8 and Henry aged 5, who used to attend playgroup. I have worked in childcare for many years where I gained my level 2 qualification in Childcare and Education. I have also worked in administration roles and worked for NHS.   In my spare time I enjoy crochet, I currently make crochet pieces to sell and show off on social media. I enjoy doing arts and crafts, as well as baking with my children. I also enjoy the countryside and I love exploring new places with my dog and family. I love photography too which you will often see me out in the local countryside with my camera and my children as well as dog in tow. We also have two guinea pigs and a giant African land snail.

All of our staff are very passionate about children, their development and learning and they take pride in their work. Our staff are kind practitioners and take a very gentle approach towards all children, working on the basis of promoting positive behaviour rather than focusing on negative behaviour, children seem to thrive in this environment. We use many positive rewards such as the Pre-School reward chart, stamps and stickers (you may find your child covered in stickers at the end of a Pre-School day).

We follow Ofsted’s requirement to have enhanced DBS criminal reference checks (the highest level of checks currently available) on all of our staff. All employee’s undergo a vigirous interview process to ensure we are employing the highest quality of practitioners, during this process a minimum of two references are required from their previous employers.

In order for us to support your child’s development in the best possible way, we employ people with different educational training backgrounds. They all attend regular training courses, which enables them to bring new ideas and updated practices to the setting.

All staff hold a Paediatrics first aid qualification and have attended safeguarding, Manual Handling, Allergy and food hygiene training, these are revised every three years to ensure we are up to date with all current policies and legislation. Safeguarding training is updated every 2 years.

Key Person System

Every child at the preschool has a member of staff who they will spend special time with and build a special bond with. This is their Key Person. The key Person knows your child really well and will ensure your child feels cared for and safe and secure.

The key Person will help with settling in to preschool and respond sensitively to your child’s needs. They will usually attend to your child’s nappy changes or toileting, development and learning and their need for cuddles or someone to talk to.

They will help your child build relationships with other staff and children in the preschool. They will usually be the person to feedback to you on how your child’s day at Pre-School has been. A key Person is also there for the family as well and we like you to build a close relationship.

The key person will also monitor your child’s progress and carry out regular observations to ensure your child’s progress is appropriate for their age and to help plan for your child based on their interests and direction of learning.

The Committee

The Pre-School Trustees and Committee have the overall responsibility for ensuring that it runs successfully in accordance with its aims.  The Committee is formed at the Annual General Meeting (usually September) of parents of Pre-School children and meets once every half-term with the Pre-School Leader and Deputy.

Our Committee currently consists of:

Chairperson – Lindsay Turner


I am Chair of the Trustees and started the role in Spring 2020. My daughter, Sophie, attended CSG Pre School Playgroup from age 3-4 in 2019-20 and now goes to CSG infant school. My son George now attends Playgroup too. I used to be a Science teacher but now work part time as a project manager. I have always had a big interest in children’s education and enjoy making engaging activities for my children at home. I’m always looking for new ideas and love to see what George has been learning and playing with at pre-school via observations on Tapestry and social media posts. I am a big foodie. I love to cook and eat healthy food and we try to grow some of our own veggies in the garden too. I also love to run as I like to keep fit and get lots of fresh air at the same time!

Treasurer – Pip Lyons

Secretary – Sarah Mackrory

I joined as a Trustee in 2020 having enjoyed several stay and play sessions at the wonderful Playgroup with my two children now 5 and 3. I have been involved in education my entire professional life and having completed my undergrad degree at Royal Holloway I progressed to a PGCE at Jesus College, Cambridge and began teaching in Essex. I then taught in Thailand for three years then returned to the UK to Harrow School as Director of Drama and English until 2015. I’ve since completed a Masters at UCL in Gender, Society and Representation with a focus on educational issues and work freelance as an education advisor and practitioner in the West End on shows such as Harry Potter and The Woman in Black. I’ve a particular interest in special and additional needs and speech and language and also have additional training in staff coaching and management.

Mike Hollies

“My name is Sophie and I am mummy to two boys.  Oliver is 5 and attends the village infant school and George is 1-he will attend the playgroup from February 2022 when he turns 2! Both my husband and I grew up in Bucks and having done a stint of living in London, we settled down in Chalfont St Giles in 2015 and love it!

I previously spent 15 years working as a merchandiser in fashion retail but since having George in 2020, I decided to take a career break and be a stay at home mummy and focus on the children.

This has given me the freedom to look for opportunities in the village to fit around school hours and being able to help and support the childcare and facilities that we will use for our own children means a great deal to me.

I joined the committee as a trustee in September 2021 and I am very much looking forward to getting involved and helping out wherever I can and watching the playgroup continue to grow!

My hobbies include walking and exploring our beautiful surroundings, eating out and catching up with family and friends whenever possible! Alongside this, we have recently moved house and taken on a renovation project which keeps us both busy in the evenings and at weekends-as total amateurs, it is a big learning curve but very exciting to see it all coming together!